× Requests and support related to jBackend.

POST to another url (a server outside my Joomla)

• igorsgm
  • Topic Author
More
7 years 7 months ago #5668 by igorsgm
Hello guys, I'm brand new with RESTFul api's and also with jBackend... I'm wondering some points:

- Which is the best way to send data via post, to external URL using JBackend? (cURL, AJAX...). Does JBackend already allows it?

- There is an example of plugin which already do such thing?

- If not, what should be the right way to build one like this? (I know the HelloWorldPlugin is the first step, but what would be the main logic).

An example of what I want:
I have a custom component in a Joomla installation (the same which JBackend is installed), and every time some data is updated in these component, I must send a JSON to specific external URL (which does not have JBackend, but have another API).

I hope have been clear and sorry for any misunderstanding.
Thanks in advance.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
7 years 7 months ago - 7 years 7 months ago #5669 by admin
Hi,
I understand exactly what you need and jBackend is NOT the best option to accomplish it. jBackend receives data from external systems, you need to send data to external systems.

The simplest way to get this is to create a custom plugin that "hooks" an event and send the data received from the event payload to the xterna system. The component should trigger the event every time something of interest happens. An event could be generated with a simple line when is not already available, example:
// *** BEGIN CUSTOM CODE ***
// Custom code for trigger an event
JPluginHelper::importPlugin('<plugintype>');
$dispatcher = JDispatcher::getInstance();
$dispatcher->trigger('on<customEventName>', array($data, $var1, $var2, ..., $varN));
// *** END CUSTOM CODE ***

Kind regards,
Luigi
Last edit: 7 years 7 months ago by admin.
The following user(s) said Thank You: igorsgm

• igorsgm
  • Topic Author
More