× Here you can get community support related to Auto Group.

Would it be wise

• chmchm
  • Topic Author
More
11 years 1 month ago #796 by chmchm
Would it be wise was created by chmchm
to use your group plugin to identify users that belong to different satellite offices within the same company?
I am new to Joomla...

Groups seem to be associated with user privileges, but I need to categorize my people...
I tried to write a larger mod, but it seemed I was unscrewing a lightbulb with a hammer, and it would take too much to keep them updated properly, so why not use an expanded profile like in CB and group them with groups? Each office though, has addresses and hours that need to be kept. Can this be related into the groups? Can you go to the file and add fields? I can't find any docs about it in Joomla.org

I appreciate your advice in advance.
Christina

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 years 1 month ago #798 by admin
Replied by admin on topic Would it be wise
Hi Christina,
I guess you are talking about Auto Group plugin for Community Builder.

Basically, this plugin allows you to assign Joomla groups to users, based on a CB field value. That's all.

If you need to have different fields for different profiles, and so on, you just need to explore CB features. Let me know if you need help.

Kind regards,
Luigi

• chmchm
  • Topic Author
More
11 years 1 month ago #799 by chmchm
Replied by chmchm on topic Would it be wise
I understand what your plugin, Auto Group, would do. I think it's wonderful! And it would make groups for my users to be placed in offices. And even more than one office. I tried to write a mod for this, but was having a hard time integrating user profiles into it without creating more than one profile per user. I really need a profile plugin with one to many categories. So, I am looking at CB, knowing that I have a forum as well.