× Here you can get community support related to ReDJ.

Creating a redirect rule in my situation

More
8 years 8 months ago #4111 by oman
Dear forum,

I am new to ReDJ.

To make a long story short, I've been having a really difficult time with migrating my site from Joomla 1.5 to 3.+ because of an extension I was using calling Multicategories, which allows you to assign one article to multiple categories in Joomla 1.5 and 2.5. Unfortunately, however, the developer is not upgrading this extension for Joomla 3.+. And it's actually not even necessary going forward either, since there is now a tags function in Joomla 3.+.

With that said, this extension inserted a com_multicategories element into all of my URLs, so the majority of URLs I've shared over the years on social media etc, contain this com_multicategories element. If I can use your product to redirect those URLs to new ones, I believe the fix might be a lot easier than I expected.

I would be eternally grateful and certainly willing to make a donation or write an extremely positive review (or buy the Pro version, should one be available), if that's the case. What I need done is fairly simple, I just don't know how to accomplish it.

The situation:

I basically need all URLs that contain "com_multicategories" to redirect to URLs that contain "com_content" instead.

For instance, if a URL was:

mysitename.com/index.php?option=com_multicategories&view=category&layout=blog&id=5&Itemid=111

I would like it to redirect to:

mysitename.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=category&layout=blog&id=79&Itemid=111

And if a URL was:

mysitename.com/index.php?option=com_multicategories&view=article&id=696:the-taking-of-tiger-mountain&catid=5:movies&Itemid=111

I would like it to redirect to:

mysitename.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=696:the-taking-of-tiger-mountain&catid=5:movies&Itemid=111

Can you please help me to create this type of redirect rule?

It would really mean a lot to me.

Sincerely,
Scott